Senate panel proposes 2 billion 54 increase for NIH

first_img According to an appropriations panel fact sheet, the bill also calls for: Senate panel proposes $2 billion, 5.4% increase for NIH Email A U.S. Senate appropriations subcommittee today approved a spending bill that calls for giving the National Institutes of Health (NIH) in Bethesda, Maryland, a $2 billion, 5.4% increase to $39.1 billion in the 2019 fiscal year that begins 1 October.The bill, which will be voted on by the full Senate appropriations panel later this week, arrives just weeks after a House of Representatives spending panel proposed a $1.25 billion raise. The House and Senate numbers are well above President Donald Trump’s $34.2 billion budget request for NIH. The numbers suggest the agency is headed for another strong year in the budget process; Congress has approved hefty increases for NIH in each of the past few years.The Senate bill calls for increasing NIH’s spending on Alzheimer’s disease research by $425 million, to $2.34 billion. Click to view the privacy policy. Required fields are indicated by an asterisk (*) By Science News StaffJun. 26, 2018 , 10:45 AMcenter_img Lydia Polimeni/National Institutes of Health Sign up for our daily newsletter Get more great content like this delivered right to you! Country Country * Afghanistan Aland Islands Albania Algeria Andorra Angola Anguilla Antarctica Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Bangladesh Barbados Belarus Belgium Belize Benin Bermuda Bhutan Bolivia, Plurinational State of Bonaire, Sint Eustatius and Saba Bosnia and Herzegovina Botswana Bouvet Island Brazil British Indian Ocean Territory Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Central African Republic Chad Chile China Christmas Island Cocos (Keeling) Islands Colombia Comoros Congo Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’Ivoire Croatia Cuba Curaçao Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Equatorial Guinea Eritrea Estonia Ethiopia Falkland Islands (Malvinas) Faroe Islands Fiji Finland France French Guiana French Polynesia French Southern Territories Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Gibraltar Greece Greenland Grenada Guadeloupe Guatemala Guernsey Guinea Guinea-Bissau Guyana Haiti Heard Island and McDonald Islands Holy See (Vatican City State) Honduras Hungary Iceland India Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Ireland Isle of Man Israel Italy Jamaica Japan Jersey Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Korea, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Lao People’s Democratic Republic Latvia Lebanon Lesotho Liberia Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Macao Macedonia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Maldives Mali Malta Martinique Mauritania Mauritius Mayotte Mexico Moldova, Republic of Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Morocco Mozambique Myanmar Namibia Nauru Nepal Netherlands New Caledonia New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Nigeria Niue Norfolk Island Norway Oman Pakistan Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Pitcairn Poland Portugal Qatar Reunion Romania Russian Federation Rwanda Saint Barthélemy Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Martin (French part) Saint Pierre and Miquelon Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Sao Tome and Principe Saudi Arabia Senegal Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Sint Maarten (Dutch part) Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands Somalia South Africa South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands South Sudan Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Suriname Svalbard and Jan Mayen Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania, United Republic of Thailand Timor-Leste Togo Tokelau Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Turkmenistan Turks and Caicos Islands Tuvalu Uganda Ukraine United Arab Emirates United Kingdom United States Uruguay Uzbekistan Vanuatu Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of Vietnam Virgin Islands, British Wallis and Futuna Western Sahara Yemen Zambia Zimbabwe $500 million for research on opioid addiction, development of opioid alternatives, pain management, and addiction treatment; $429.4 million for the  Brain Research through Advancing Innovative Neurotechnologies Initiative to map the human brain, a $29 million increase; $361.8 million for the Institutional Development Award, an $11.2 million increase; $376 million for the All of Us precision medicine study, an $86 million increase; $550 million for the National Strategy to Combat Antibiotic-Resistant Bacteria, a $37 million increase; $560 million for the Clinical and Translational Science Award, a $17.32 million increase; $12.6 million for the Gabriella Miller Kids First Research Act; $120 million for research on the universal flu vaccine, a $20 million increase; and increases to every institute and center to continue investments in innovative research to advance fundamental knowledge and speed the development of new therapies, diagnostics, and preventive measures to improve the health of all Americans.last_img

Write your comment Here