JCD’s Lilly Simon and Greensburg’s Kyra Whitaker Participating In the North/South Indiana Basketball All-Star Classic

first_imgJac-Cen-Del Lady Eagle standout Lilly Simon and Greensburg Lady Pirate standout Kyra Whitaker will be among an elite group of Indiana’s senior basketball players who will convene at John R. Wooden Gymnasium at Martinsville High School on Saturday, April 7th to prepare for the 30th annual North/South Indiana All-Star Classic. This girls’ and boys’ doubleheader will be played on Saturday, April 7, 2018, at 5 p.m. (girls) and 7 p.m. (boys).The North/South Indiana All-Star Classic is sponsored by Martinsville High School, Hoosier Basketball Magazine and Pacesetter Sports in Terre Haute. Twenty-four girls will compete in the first half of this doubleheader including 10 players that have been named to the 2018 Indiana All-Star team. The second game, the boys, features three future Big Ten basketball players as well as the state’s leading scorer.Five Indiana All-Stars highlight the North Girls’ squad, topped by one of the state’s leading scorers— Leigha Brown (28 ppg), DeKalb {Nebraska}— along with another top scorer in Emily Kiser (21.1), Noblesville {Michigan}. The remaining Indiana All-Stars for the North are Jenasae Bishop, East Chicago Central {Boston College}; Cassidy Hardin, Center Grove {Purdue} and Tomi Taiwo, Carmel {Iowa}. More Division I talent is showcased by Ellen Ross, Fort Wayne Dwenger {Butler} and Ajah Stallings, North Central (Marion) {Purdue-walk-on}. Two other North high scorers are Cameron Cardenas, Beech Grove and Kendall Fisher, Tindley both averaging 22.5 ppg. The North girls will be coached by Eric Kundich, East Chicago Central and Mark Hurt, Mooresville.The South girls’ roster also includes five Indiana All-Stars. Two are 20+ point per game scores—Angel Baker (21.7 ppg), Pike {Wright State} and Kayana Traylor (21.4 ppg), Martinsville {Purdue}. The other three are Mackenzie Blazek, Whiteland {Illinois}, Anna Newman, Evansville North {Evansville} and Michaela White, Pike {Indiana State}. The South also features Kyra Whitaker of 2018 class AAA state runner-up Greensburg and Division I signee Sadie Hill, Perry Meridian {Murray State}. The South girls will be coached by Vince Cerbone, Martinsville and Kyle Shipp, Whiteland.Twenty-four boys compete in the second game of this doubleheader which features 10 players who scored more than 20 ppg this past season. The North is led by two future Big Ten Rivals— Eric Hunter, (27.8 ppg) Tindley {Purdue} and Damezi Anderson (19.1) South Bend Riley {Indiana}. Three others are committed to Division I colleges—Jack Hansen, Guerin Catholic {IUPUI}, Jamal Harris, Indianapolis Crispus Attucks {New Orleans} and Myja White, Brebeuf Jesuit {Miami-Ohio}. The North also boasts the state’s top scorer in Jalen Moore, Cloverdale who scored over 1000 points this season with his 36.8 average. Two more high scorers are Tyler Watson, Tri-West (26.8) and Jared DeHart, Indian Creek (23.3). Warren Central’s Antwaan Cushingberry is an IHSAA state champion.  The North boys will be coached by Criss Beyers, Warren Central and Patrick Rady, Cloverdale.The South roster features Aaron Henry of 2017 IHSAA State Champion AAAA Ben Davis, a Michigan Staterecruit along with two 2018 IHSAA State Champion finalists— Mekhi Lairy (26.2 ppg) of AAA runner-upEvansville Bosse {Miami-Ohio} and Hayden Langkabel (26.6) of class A State Champion Morristown. Additional high scoring support for the South team comes from Gavin Bizeau (22 ppg), Plainfield {Duquesne} and De’Avion Washington (20.3), Terre Haute South {Indiana State} both bound for Division I programs. Chance Coyle (20), Bloomington South and Glen Rouch (22.6), Boonville will both play for Division II Southern Indiana next fall. Sean East was a member of AAAA New Albany’s 2016 IHSAA state championship team. The South boys will be coached by Mark James, Ben Davis and Maynard Lewis, Terre Haute South.2018 North/South Indiana All-Star Classic at “John R. Wooden Gymnasium” Martinsville High School – Martinsville, Indiana. Saturday, April 7, 2018 – Girls Game – 5:00 pm.NORTH GIRLS TEAMNorth Girls Coaches – Eric Kundich, East Chicago Central and Mark Hurt, Mooresville.NAME SCHOOL HEIGHT, POSITION COLLEGEJenasae Bishop East Chicago Central 5-8 guard Boston CollegeLeigha Brown DeKalb 6-2 forward NebraskaCameron Cardenas Beech Grove 5-8 guard MarianKendall Fisher Tindley 5-3 guard UndecidedCassidy Hardin Center Grove 5-10 guard PurdueNatalie Kassen Mooresville 5-7 guard IU-KokomoEmily Kiser Noblesville 6-2 center MichiganKeya Patton Indianapolis Cathedral 5-7 guard UndecidedEllen Ross Fort Wayne Dwenger 5-11 forward ButlerAddie Rund Indian Creek 5-3 guard FranklinAjah Stallings North Central (Marion) 5-8 wing PurdueTomi Taiwo Carmel 5-10 guard IowaSOUTH GIRLS TEAMSouth Girls Coaches – Vince Cerbone, Martinsville and Kyle Shipp, Whiteland.NAME SCHOOL HEIGHT, POSITION COLLEGEAngel Baker Pike 5-8 guard Wright StateMackenzie Blazek Whiteland 6-2 center IllinoisMerideth Deckard Martinsville 5-5 guard TaylorAbi Haynes Vincennes Lincoln 5-8 guard Wabash ValleySadie Hill Perry Meridian 5-11 forward Murray StateMcKenzie Messmore Bedford North Lawrence 5-6 guard HanoverAnna Newman Evansville North 5-4 guard EvansvilleSamantha Olinger Plainfield 5-8 wing Indiana (student)Lilly Simon Jac-Cen-Del 5-6 guard FindlayKayana Traylor Martinsville 5-9 guard PurdueKyra Whitaker Greensburg 5-7 guard Indiana TechMichaela White Pike 6-0 forward Indiana State2018 North/South Indiana All-Star Classic at “John R. Wooden Gymnasium” Martinsville High School – Martinsville, Indiana. Saturday, April 7, 2018 – Boys Game – 7:00 pm.NORTH BOYS TEAMNorth Boys Coaches – Criss Beyers, Warren Central and Patrick Rady, Cloverdale.NAME SCHOOL HEIGHT, POSITION COLLEGEDamezi Anderson South Bend Riley 6-7 forward IndianaAntwaan Cushingberry Warren Central 5-8 guard UndecidedJared DeHart Indian Creek 6-0 guard BethelKevin Easley Lawrence North 6-6 forward TN ChattanoogaJack Hansen Guerin Catholic 6-7 forward IUPUIJamal Harris Indianapolis Crispus Attucks 6-2 wing New OrleansEric Hunter Tindley 6-3 guard PurdueDonald Lee North Central (Marion) 6-5 forward UndecidedJalen Moore Cloverdale 5-10 guard UndecidedJeffrey Reynolds Greenwood 6-7 forward St. FrancisTyler Watson Tri-West 6-0 guard MarianMyja White Brebeuf Jesuit 6-1 guard Miami (OH)SOUTH BOYS TEAMSouth Boys Coaches – Mark James, Ben Davis and Maynard Lewis, Terre Haute SouthNAME SCHOOL HEIGHT, POSITION COLLEGEGavin Bizeau Plainfield 6-11 forward DuquesneJonathan Collier Martinsville 6-2 guard WabashChance Coyle Bloomington South 6-4 guard Southern IndianaSean East New Albany 6-1 guard UndecidedBailey Falkenstein Jeffersonville 6-3 wing Olney JCLuke Gohmann Floyd Central 6-6 forward MarianAaron Henry Ben Davis 6-5 forward Michigan StateMekhi Lairy Evansville Bosse 5-7 guard Miami (OH)Hayden Langkabel Morristown 6-0 guard MarianGlen Rouch Boonville 6-5 forward Southern IndianaBrayton Strohmeyer Mooresville 6-4 forward UndecidedDe’Avion Washington Terre Haute South 6-4 guard Indiana.last_img read more

Read More..